Behaviour Change Development Framework

The Behaviour Change Development Framework and Toolkit can help you decide what sort of behaviour change training and planning is needed to effectively support people to make positive changes in their lives.

Health Education England (HEE) in collaboration with a range of partners have developed a framework which aims to help in understanding what behaviour change skills are required for different segments of the workforce (see below). The framework summarises the levels of behaviour  change training by first articulating what the service-user need is and therefore what they need from the workforce. This begins to look at behaviour change development of the workforce through a person-centred approach recognising the need of the service user first.

The Behaviour Change Development Framework outlines four levels as:

• Behaviour Change Literacy (BCL)

• Behaviour Change Level 1 (BC1)

• Behaviour Change Level 2 (BC2)

• Behaviour Change Level 3 (BC3)

By looking at the need of who the workforce interacts with, workforce leads can avoid the pitfalls around making training decisions based on grade, job title or job description. This reduces complexity and provides a guide on who needs to be trained at what level. The framework then looks at the behaviour change development steps needed to best meet the needs of the service user ranging from a basic understanding of behaviour change to high intensity behaviour change interventions.